iPhone mobile chip: Apple touts from Qualcomm Manager


iPhone mobile chip: Apple touts from Qualcomm Manager


Leo Becker


The main board of the iPhone 6s: The radio chip (Here Qualcomm) is not part of Apple's A-series chip.

(image: iFixit )

In the midst of major patent battle between the groups is an important manager of the chip manufacturer has made the switch to Apple publicized - there he would lead the division for the development of a radio chip.

Apple iPhone 7 32GB black

Apple iPhone 7 32GB black
from € 609, -

Apple has set a long-term Qualcomm manager as head of the wireless chip development. This gave the Esin Terzioglus last active as vice-president of engineering at Qualcomm known to his LinkedIn profile - He will now continue his career after nearly eight years at Qualcomm from Apple. Terzioglus passes by his own account, the development of an integrated radio chips (System on a Chip) for the iPhone Group.

An on-site Apple modem for the iPhone?

Has long been speculated, Apple working on an in-house modem for the iPhone. Apple controls the baseband responsible for cellular connections for iPhone and iPad for many years by Qualcomm, with the iPhone 7 also came Intel added as a supplier.

Apple and Qualcomm now conduct a wide-ranging patent battle, when it comes to billions - Qualcomm wants to sue those currently of Apple's suppliers, have suspended payments at the direction of the California Group. Apple accuses Qualcomm, the business “based on older standards” and to have the dominance of the radio chip market at the same time by “Exclusion tactics and excessive royalties” to preserve.

Apple wants to carry out tests for 5G networks

Recently, it was announced, that Apple is already prepared for the next wireless standard 5G and has for the first time applied for an experimental license for test runs in the millimeter wave range - this already indicates the growing interest of the company to its own development of wireless chips. Apple obviously wants to create more and more of the essential chips for iPhone and iPad itself: In addition to the processor, the Group will in future probably also develop the GPU completely change, the base band could then be integrated as an additional step in the A-Chip series.


(lbe)



This news comes from our partner network : https://www.heise.de/mac-and-i/meldung/iPhone-Mobilfunkchip-Apple-wirbt-Qualcomm-Manager-ab-3729041.html?wt_mc=rss.apple.beitrag.atom

original image courtesy of heise.de

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

iPhone-Mobilfunkchip: Apple wirbt Qualcomm-Manager ab


iPhone-Mobilfunkchip: Apple wirbt Qualcomm-Manager ab


Leo Becker


Die Hauptplatine des iPhone 6s: Der Funkchip (hier von Qualcomm) ist nicht Teil von Apples A-Chip-Reihe.

(Bild: iFixit )

Mitten in der großen Patentschlacht zwischen den Konzernen hat ein wichtiger Manager des Chip-Herstellers den Wechsel zu Apple publik gemacht – er werde dort die Sparte zur Entwicklung eines Funkchips leiten.

Apple iPhone 7 32GB schwarz

Apple iPhone 7 32GB schwarz
ab € 609,–

Apple hat einen langjährigen Qualcomm-Manager als Leiter der Funkchipentwicklung eingestellt. Dies gab der zuletzt bei Qualcomm als Vice-President Engineering tätige Esin Terzioglus auf seinem LinkedIn-Profil bekannt – er werde seine Karriere nach fast acht Jahren bei Qualcomm nun bei Apple fortsetzen. Terzioglus leitet nach eigener Angabe die Entwicklung eines integrierten Funkchips (System on a Chip) bei dem iPhone-Konzern.

Ein hauseigenes Apple-Modem für das iPhone?

Seit längerem wird spekuliert, Apple arbeite an einem hauseigenen Modem für das iPhone. Apple bezieht das für die Mobilfunkverbindungen zuständige Baseband für iPhone und iPad seit vielen Jahren von Qualcomm, mit dem iPhone 7 kam außerdem Intel als Zulieferer hinzu.

Apple und Qualcomm führen inzwischen eine weitreichende Patentschlacht, bei der es um Milliardenbeträge geht – Qualcomm will diese aktuell von Apples Zulieferern einklagen, die ihre Zahlungen auf Anweisung des kalifornischen Konzerns eingestellt haben. Apple wirft Qualcomm vor, das Geschäft „auf älteren Standards aufgebaut“ zu haben und die Dominanz des Funkchipmarktes zugleich durch „Ausschlusstaktiken und exzessive Lizenzgebühren“ zu bewahren.

Apple will Tests für 5G-Netze durchführen

Jüngst wurde bekannt, dass Apple sich bereits auf den nächsten Mobilfunkstandard 5G vorbereitet und dafür erstmals eine experimentelle Lizenz für Testläufe im Millimeterwellenbereich beantragt hat – dies deutet bereits auf das wachsende Interesse des Unternehmens an einer Eigenentwicklung von Funkchips hin. Apple will offensichtlich immer mehr der essentiellen Chips für iPhone und iPad selbst entwerfen: Neben dem Prozessor will der Konzern künftig auch die GPU wohl komplett selbst entwickeln, das Baseband könnte dann als zusätzlicher Schritt mit in die A-Chip-Reihe integriert werden.


(lbe)



Diese News stammen aus unserem Partnernetzwerk : https://www.heise.de/mac-and-i/meldung/iPhone-Mobilfunkchip-Apple-wirbt-Qualcomm-Manager-ab-3729041.html?wt_mc=rss.apple.beitrag.atom

Originalbild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von heise.de

Ersten Kommentar schreiben

Antworten